Top Ten Tuesday: Books I’d Recommend as a Good Beach Read

Image

I haven’t been to the beach in awhile, and I don’t read a whole lot on the sand. I’m too busy swallowing salt water and enjoying the sea. But when I do read on the beach, I choose a book that goes with the mood, whether that be one of adventure, promise, surreality (not technically a word), or whatever. I’m weird like that. But here are a few that I would choose:

1.) The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins-I’ve posted about this book being a good outdoor summer read, so it follows that it would also be a great beach read. It’s fast-paced, full of excitement, and it’s easy to imagine the beach being a setting for one of the Hunger Games. Then, if I want (or can’t help it), I can imagine that I’m a tribute in the Games. Don’t judge. It is one that’s hard to put down so you might not be enjoying the beach itself.

2.) The Beejum Book by Alice O. Howell-It’s been awhile since I read this, but it’s a about a young girl who finds herself going between her dream world and her waking world as she copes with the issues of growing up. Full of fun characters and adventure, this book would add a whimsical mood to your beach-going. And it’s not something you have to think hard about, so it’s about enjoyment and becoming a child again. And it’s a book you can enjoy while you read it without having many qualms about putting it down to enjoy the waves, throw a Frisbee, or whatever you do on the beach.

3.) Rebecca by Daphne du Maurier-I’ve read this book three times. It has romance, mystery, and excellent writing. A great beach read, in my opinion.  And while this isn’t technically a mystery novel, I recommend any detective stories as well.

4.) Pride and Prejudice and Zombies by Seth Grahame-Smith-Somehow, this story seems so appropriate. Beaches and zombies go hand in hand, after all. Plus it’s a good way to gather tips for the real zombie apocalypse, which has been on my mind a lot what with The Walking Dead and all the cannibals that seem to be everywhere all of a sudden. No joke. Anyway, maybe this read isn’t as appropriate as Sense and Sensibility and Sea Monsters, but why choose?

5.) Pride and Prejudice by Jane Austin-the classic love story that goes well with the often-perceived romantic ambiance of the beach. I’ve never seen it as romantic, but I’m pretty cynical. But you’ll look pretty snazzy reading it.

6.) Treasure Island by Robert Louis Stevenson-This is one of my favorite adventure stories of all time. And you can practically live as you read it if you’re at the beach. It’ll make you want to jump out of your beach chair and dig for gold in the sand, dodging pirates in the form of overweight bathers and hitting people with drifwood-sticks for the love of booty.

7.) Ella Enchanted by Gail Carson Levine-It’s an easy read and one that goes quickly, so you can enjoy the beach and the book at the same time.

8.) Out of the Silent Planet by C.S. Lewis-Who doesn’t love a good science-fiction? They’re fun to read and somehow make sense to read at the beach. This one has a lot of adventure, neat ideas, and good characters.

9.) The Dark Tower by C.S. Lewis-This is a collection of some of Lewis’s short stories. They’re not all finished, but they’re short and so you can enjoy one excellent story, take a break, start another, take a break, etc. Shirley Jackson also has some excellent short story collections.

10.) Phantastes by George MacDonald-This is one of many fairy-tales written by MadDonald. It’s a bit of a head scratcher, but that allows you to remember that you’re on the beach. If that makes sense. You can live in the fairy world and the beach world at the same time. Besides, there’s something fantastical about the beach anyway, so you might as well read something that fits the atmosphere.

I need to expand my reading to include more modern books and authors. Older books are a common theme. Suggest some modern authors for me to read. Who are you into these days?

Subscribe! Sorry, didn’t mean to yell. I got excited. Thanks again to the Broke and the Bookish. http://brokeandbookish.blogspot.com

Image

7 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Books I’d Recommend as a Good Beach Read

  1. I remember being more creeped out by Treasure Island than I’d ever been by any book in my life. Can’t remember how old I was–maybe twelve or thirteen? Soooo scary. 🙂

    Good list, though. I love C.S. Lewis, especially his Space Trilogy, and Austen. And MacDonald, for that matter, though I don’t think I could read Phantastes on the beach. Head-scratcher is definitely the right descriptor, there.

    1. If I’d read TI when I was 13 I might have been creeped out too. As it is, I didn’t get a-hold of it till last year.

      Lewis has been a favorite since childhood. Have you read Till We Have Faces? I wasn’t introduced to MacDonald until Spring of 2012. He’s pretty dern great. I need to read Lillith. I’ve heard it’s better than Phantastes.

      1. Ah, yes, I love Till We Have Faces. Excellent book.

        Lilith is coming up on my to-read list, and I’m excited about it. MacDonald is all kinds of awesome.

  2. Ah…I need to read the Space Trilogy again. And Phantastes for the first time. I don’t actually think I’ll be going to the beach this summer, sadly, but I’m always looking for more recommendations. I have a lot already though. I’ll never finish all the books I want to read…my list keeps getting longer…I hope they still have books in heaven. 😛

Leave a Reply

