Top Ten Tuesday

Once again, here’s the Broke and the Bookish meme, Top Ten Tuesday! This time, it’s “Top Ten Books On My Summer TBR List”. An excellent top ten, as I’m doing a bad job of following it. So, here are my top ten TBR for the summer:

1.) The Laughing Policeman by Sjöwall and Wahlöö- I grew up with Nancy Drew. My mom always read Agatha Christie. These two things mixed give me a weak-spot for the detective novel, even if I don’t read them extensively. This one is the 4th book in the Martin Beck series. Martin Beck is a detective/family-man in Sweden. So far, I wouldn’t say the plot is slow. Just the writing. Which is kind of weird. Then again, I haven’t been following the series. On the night of a huge protest in front of a political building, a double-decker bus is found crashed into the side of a building with 8 people on board, all shot dead. One is a policeman. Martin Beck steps in to figure it out.

2.) Under the Banner of Heaven by Jon Krakauer- It’s a good book so far. I started reading this before The Laughing Policeman but haven’t finished yet. Shame on me for book-hopping. The problem with this book is that it’s awesomely non-fiction and exciting at the same time, but it’s like reading a very long news article. So while interesting, it gets tedious. So really, it’s more a problem with me and a lack of willpower. It will be finished eventually. It’s about fundamental mormanism and the effect it has on the people who practice it. Super super interesting.

3.) Dark Tower: The Wind Through the Keyhole by Stephen King- like I’ve said before, I’m trying to read more King. I don’t really know anything about this book except that it’s a continuation of The Dark Tower series, in which two worlds, our own and a world parallel to it, intersect in a huge adventure involving gunslingers and a bunch of Americans…non-gunslinging ones. Roland (gunslinger) tells his posse his story as they wait for a wind storm to let up.

4.) The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society by Mary Ann Shaffer and Annie Barrows-I read the description for this book on the Bookish Sarah’s blog (http://thebookishsarah.wordpress.com/) and was intrigued. So, I want to read it. Here is Sarah’s summary of the book: “It all starts with a letter from a stranger–a member of the Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society–about a book, and then Juliet Ashton, comic writer during WWII in London, begins to learn the extraordinary tale of the channel island during the German Occupation and the society that thrived within it.” Sounds interesting.

5.) Holes by Louis Sachar- I’ve seen the movie, which I love. So I figure it’s about time to read the book, which I’ve heard is pretty good. Three stories are told side-by-side, all taking place at different times, but they intersect in ways that are unexpected, coming together perfectly at the end. It’s so satisfying!

6.) The Giver by Lois Lowry- A kid is given a special job, and he begins to learn that the man who is in charge, the Giver, has some secrets that shatter his perception of the world he lives in. That’s what the summary says anyway. Sounds interesting to me, and it’s been around and gotten a lot of attention. It’s good to learn from the best.

7.) Extremely Loud and Incredibly Close by Jonathon Safran Foer-I’ve heard nothing but good things about this book. It’s 9/11 from the perspective of a kid. I’m really excited about this one.

8.) Inheritance by Christopher Paolini-I don’t really like Paolini. Honestly, and this isn’t nice, I think he’s living out his fantasies in the form of this series, which isn’t well written. But I started it, and now I need to finish it.

9.) Watership Down by Richard Adams-I’ve been meaning to read this book for the last two years, at least. Rabbits, war, and parallels with the Jews’ traveling to the Holy Land, why wouldn’t you read this book?

10.) My own friends’ writings by my friends-I have a lot of friends who are working on their own written works. So I’ll be looking forward to those this summer. A few of my friends are well on their way to getting published. As in, they’ve finished a book. Which is more than I’ve done, thus they’re well on their way. I’m proud of my friends, and having talented peers is good motivation. They do say that artists and writers should have other artist and writer friends for this very purpose. So, I feel bad about myself. And that is just the way it should be. According to these people.

I just started 8-hour work-days at a daycare looking after 5-year-olds, so it’s a bit harder to post consistently. But I’ll do my best. And when I do, you’ll know I did it for you, even though I had spent the day chasing children, cleaning cupcake off my pants, drying tears, etc. So subscribe! I’ll feel loved.

Thanks again to The Broke and the Bookish!

Leave a Reply

